Table of Contents

Check Out Definition: Checking a project out means that only you can edit that project for the duration of the check-out. For other users to be able to edit you will need to check the project back in (see below). This process prevents multiple users from editing the same project at once and discarding, or overwriting, each other’s edits.

  • Starting from your Home page, choose Project Centre:
MSP006-How to Check a Project Out, Save, Publish and Check Back In
  • Open a project using the Microsoft Project app (click the corresponding icon on column A).
MSP006-How to Check a Project Out, Save, Publish and Check Back In
  • Say Yes to the following pop-up.
MSP006-How to Check a Project Out, Save, Publish and Check Back In
  • This should automatically check your project out. If it is not automatic, you will get a menu prompt enabling you to Check Out the project:
MSP006-How to Check a Project Out, Save, Publish and Check Back In
  • You can also open your Project Online projects from the Microsoft Project app; from the File menu, select Open, then Browse.
MSP006-How to Check a Project Out, Save, Publish and Check Back In
  • Double-click to select Show me the list of all projects.
MSP006-How to Check a Project Out, Save, Publish and Check Back In
  • Select the project you wish to Check Out and click Open.
MSP006-How to Check a Project Out, Save, Publish and Check Back In
  • Click the menu prompt enabling you to Check out the project.
MSP006-How to Check a Project Out, Save, Publish and Check Back In

Save Definition: Saving a project means that your edits are saved on your checked out copy of the project ONLY. For other users to see what you have done, you will need to publish the project back to Project Online (see below).

It is important to understand the distinction between saving and publishing!

  • To save your edits to your checked-out project, click Save.
MSP006-How to Check a Project Out, Save, Publish and Check Back In

Publish Definition: Publishing a project means that your edits are saved on your checked out copy of the project AND, (once you check the project back in), these will be available for other users to see – that is, rather than saving your edits to your own checked-out copy of the project ONLY, it publishes the edits back to Project Online.

  • To Publish your edits to a project, select the File menu, click Info, and then Publish.
MSP006-How to Check a Project Out, Save, Publish and Check Back In

NOTE: You can also add the Publish option to your quick access toolbar (see ‘How to Customise your quick access toolbar’).

Check-In Definition: Checking a project in enables the project to be checked out by other users. It is important to note that your project can be force-checked in by others if necessary – this may mean that any un-saved or unpublished edits you have made can be lost.

When you close your project file, you will be prompted to check it back in (if you have any unsaved changes, you will also be prompted to save these):

MSP006-How to Check a Project Out, Save, Publish and Check Back In

It is important to follow a protocol of “Check-Out, Save, Publish and Check-In.”


MSP006-How to Check a Project Out, Save, Publish and Check Back In

Copyright @Nonsuch

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 5 stars
5 Stars 0%
4 Stars 0%
3 Stars 0%
2 Stars 0%
1 Stars 0%
Please Share Your Feedback
How Can We Improve This Article?
Previous INT002-How to Connect Microsoft Project to Project Online